Reviews for Yamaha P70 Digital Piano

Not Available

Product Reviews (14)

Very basic digital piano with limited functions

Strengths: acoustic sound, appearance

Weakness: thumping sound when keys are pressed and when they rebound back, very low volume, no metronome, no 1/4" outputs, minimal tones, no auto-accompaniment, no record/playback feature

The P70 digital piano is a fair piano. First of all it looks very elegant with the all black finish and hint of red velvet. The touch mimics that of a grand piano because it utilizes Yamaha’s graded hammer standard (GHS) technology, with fully weighted keys and not semi or light-weighted. The sound is very close to an acoustic. If you’re looking for a digital piano without any bells and whistles, this is the one to get. It serves as a great digital PIANO; therefore, it does not have many other functions. HOWEVER, there are drawbacks to this model. The P70 lacks a metronome. A piano of this price should have one. It also only has headphone size outputs and no ¼” line in/out making it difficult to hook up to any sort of amplification system. The weight at about 29 pounds is light enough for gigs but the lack of outputs is a factor. The piano is very basic with minimal tones (10 voices) and does not have auto-accompaniment. Recording and playback are not supported either. The two biggest drawbacks are that the volume is very very soft, where I have to set it on max most of the time, and the keys make a soft thumping noise as they are depressed that is very noticeable even with headphones on. It’s very basic and serves its purpose as a practice digital piano at home.

By yenny527 - Sep 8, 2007

Very satisfied.

Strengths: Price is good. Good sound quality. Great look.

Weakness: GHS is not as good as GH and GH3.

I will recommend this keyboard given the price and the quality. I play it in the showroom before I bought it. If you have a bigger budget, go for P140, which is about twice the price. Overall, it's a good quality keyboard.

By keningcibs - Jan 22, 2007

Good basic digital piano

Strengths: Touch, sound, and weight (28lbs)

Weakness: No 1/4 inch outputs, Low volume with some distortion at high end, no metronome, no USB slot or interface, no recording, transpose function uses piano keys, noisy keys (press and release)

I have owned this piano for over a year and I like the touch and the sound so it has been good for practice. I recently used it for Ivory pianos and I found the noisy keys to be distracting. Also, when I was on a gig I would have to use the headphone jacks to connect to a PA system. I gave the P-70 to my grand daughter to help her with her lessons and went to the P-155 which unfortunately is heavier but does not have the noisy keys and the other features I feel are important.

I would still recommend this piano (or the P95) because Yamaha have done a great job with the feel and the sound for a reasonable price.

By pughimag - Mar 10, 2006

Yamaha P70 Review

Strengths: Sound quality, simplicity and feel of the weighted keys

Weakness: The volume is weak.

We looked at many different types of keyboards and selected the P70 for our daughter based on the sound quality and simplicity.

We considered more expensive keyboards with more features but liked the feel and simplicty the P70 offered. The price is right for a good quality, great sounding keybard. Our only complaint is the volume coming from the speakers.

By terrystickler - Nov 7, 2006

yamaha p70 digital piano

Strengths: sounds and feels like a real piano

Weakness: speakers do not project enough sound

I bought the P70 for my college dorm room. I needed something that was small, portable, and produced great sound. This digital piano has definitely met all of these needs. If you want something with an authentic piano sound, but do not have enough space for a larger piano, the P70 is the perfect solution.

By wilki109 - Oct 16, 2006

Nice piano

Strengths: Sound, quality, aesthetic appeal

Weakness: Keyboard action

My acoustic piano is in a small bedroom, and I felt like not only my roommate but the neighbors next door were probably getting too much of my playing. It would be nice to have a piano in a completely isolated place where only I could hear it, but the world's a little too crowded for that! I decided it was time to practice in silence. In the late 1990's I had a Casio electronic piano, but I ended up selling it because it just didn't work for me. Because of that I approached the Yamaha P70 with lowered expectations, and I haven't been completely disappointed. It has a beautiful sound, and it's also remarkable how realisitic it is in terms of volume related to velocity, and the way notes gradually fade out. But, at least in my opinion, the keyboard action is hard and "clomping." It's harder to press the keys than it is on my acoustic piano (maybe this will make for stronger fingers?), and there are "clomps" when the keys are pressed down and released. I find it very distracting, but maybe I'll get used to it. I'm thinking about buying over-the-ear headphones to cut down on that noise. I'd still rather be playing my old acoustic, because the digital lacks its feel and sound, but being able to practice any time of the day or night will be invaluable.

By timtex - Sep 30, 2006

Yamaha P70 Digital Piano

Strengths: Authentic feel and sound.

Weakness: Speaker system/ volume not ideal, but pretty good. Only output is mini headphone jack.

I'm very happy overall with the Yamaha P70 digital piano. If I had more space in my apartment, and didn't live on the third floor, I probably would have bought a regular piano. But this is a great option which perfectly suits my needs at the moment. Plus, I like having the stand high and playing while standing up.

By lella11 - Jul 6, 2006

Yahama P-70 review

Strengths: The P-70 sounds great! just like a real grand piano.

Weakness: The only source of irritation is the keys when it hit touches the keyboard it makes a slight clinking noise.

Overall the keyboard is worth the price paid for it. The keyboard looks beautiful with the P-70 ($120). Only two things I don't like is the piano keys sometimes clinking when touches the keyboard. Sometimes the keyboard get a buzzing noise (according to manual from cel phone or cordless phone interference). Besides these two things it's a good keyboard. Doesn't replace the feel of real piano.

By creativeworld - May 30, 2006

I like It!

Strengths: Keyboard

Weakness: Volume

Just what I was looking for;
a real (to my clumsy touch) keyboard.
Any extras are not what I was looking
for so I do not miss them. The is heavier
than my old keyboard so my inexpensive
stand is not up to the task of keeping
it from moving around when I play. If I
get at all excited I need to put it on my desk.
A new stand; another cost to add to the new toy before I am done.

By freddrichey - Jan 1, 2008

A Solid Digital Piano for Home Use

Strengths: The P70 is a great digital piano for those who want to have a reliable digital piano. It feels like a real piano. I am still taking classes and this is the exact piano the school uses.

Weakness: It has limited options but who needs so many options that will never be used... I think it is a fairly basic Digital piano for home use. Pretty heavy to use in gigs.

I researched many Weighted action Digital Pianos and I ended up with this brand and model based on quality, feel, sound, and full playing experience.

It is one of the best models at its price range based on the above.

By melvintorres - Jan 20, 2008

PRICE FOR YAMAHA P70

Ii'm looking into buying a Yamaha P70, what is a reasonable price to pay for a used one. its in very good shape and has no signs of wear and tear. Lightly used comes with stand, petal, adapters and manual. please help, i dont want to over pay!

By anonymous; - Mar 7, 2012

Good basic digital piano

Strengths: Touch, sound, and weight (28lbs)

Weakness: No 1/4 inch outputs, Low volume with some distortion at high end, no metronome, no USB slot or interface, no recording, transpose function uses piano keys, noisy keys (pres and releas)

I have owned this piano for over a year and I like the touch and the sound so it has been good for practice. I recently used it for Ivory pianos and I found the noisy keys to be distracting. Also, when I was on a gig I would have to use the headphone jacks to connect to a PA system. I gave the P-70 to my grand daughter to help her with her lessons and went to the P-155 which unfortunately is heavier but does not have the noisy keys and the other features I feel are important.

I would still recommend this piano (or the P95) because Yamaha have done a great job with the feel and the sound for a reasonable price.

By anonymous; - Jan 5, 2011

melvinruiz

Strengths: Sound, performance & space! Great 4 Bigginers!

Weakness: Volume 2 low :-(

This DP was recomended by very good musicians, price was right, and a very good first step to the wonderful world of DP's. A very good real-piano imitation, the feeling is right and sound is fantastic. Not bad 4 a very first toy, thumb-up!

By anonymous; - Oct 22, 2009

Yamaha P70 Digital Piano

Strengths: Authentic feel and sound

Weakness: Speaker system/ volume not ideal, but pretty good. Only output is mini headphone jack.

I'm very happy overall with the Yamaha P70 digital piano. If I had more space in my apartment, and didn't live on the third floor, I probably would have bought a regular piano. But this is a great option which perfectly suits my needs at the moment. Plus, I like having the stand high and playing while standing up.

By anonymous; - Jul 6, 2006